Workout Spotlight: Running

I love running. Let me be more specific—I love running outside, in 75 degree weather, with the sun shining bright, a gentle breeze, and under clear blue skies. It’s where I can go to think and workout anything that’s bothering me. It’s my therapy. The sidewalk is the couch and the therapist is the air that I breathe into my lungs that feeds my passion and helps me see things clearly. When I step out on to the sidewalk and start up a gait, my anxiety washes away.

I like to hear the sound of the city, so I run without headphones. The music is my steps , the laughter from kids, and the sound of wind dancing thorough the leaves on the now lush trees. Out there you don’t have to worry about the guy next to you sweating up a storm.  I don’t worry about calories, heart rate, or anything else. All that’s out there is the sound of my feet hitting the pavement –clop clop, the wind flowing over my skin, the bright sunshine massaging my skin, the fragrance of flowers, and the beautiful foliage. Every time I run it’s a euphoric experience that I yearn for thoughout the day.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

