Holy crap I’m awkward!

Courtesy of awkwardfamilyphotos.com

I have a confession to make…I’m extremely awkward. It’s not to the point where I can’t make friends (I have friends–tons–I can prove it!Ha). I just find myself in awkward situations. Usually it’s when I’m talking to someone for the first time and the conversation takes an awkward turn, and then there’s just dead silence. Or I put my foot in my mouth and say something that makes evverrrything awkward. Although these situations may not make the best impression at that particular moment, it provides some great stories to tell people so I can laugh about it later. Here are two simple ways to make sure that awkward moment turns into a hilarious story:

Just embrace it – If a situation turns awkward: just acknowledge it and make a joke about it to the other person or people. Usually it will make the situation less awkward.

Just ignore it– You can kind of brush over a statement you make and not make the moment awkward inadvertently. Remember this statement: It’s only awkward if you make it awkward. The other person may not have noticed the awkwardness until you say something.

I know it’s kinda hard to pick which direction to take, but you just kinda have to become a pro at navigating awkward situations by feeling them out to pick the best course of action. I no doubt will have at least 5 awkward moments today. I’ll let you know how it goes :).

What is your best awkward moment story? Or do you have any other strategies for handling awkward moments?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

