I’m just 24 going on 6…

                                  

Earlier this week, we had a fire drill at work. The warning sounded “there’s a fire in the building, please evacuate” People flooded from each floor door onto the stair well that led to the ground floor and we leisurely walked out of the building to our assigned spaces in the parking lot. Some employees disobediently went to other department’s assigned spaces to  catch up with friends . Other colleagues began to bounce  a small ball around to each other in a game of mini foursquare.  One of my co-workers poked me and uttered some unrecognizable verbal sound. After a couple of minutes, a man on the megaphone signaled that this was just a drill and instructed us to orderly re-enter the building.

This was a scene I had witnessed many times in my life. However, these scenes were characteristics of my elementary school days. I never thought as an adult I would be participating in the same scenes as I did as a child. It’s as if Act 1 in this play became Act 4 and the play never really progressed into a story that led to an end. It just repeated and repeated on an infinite record player.

These elementary scenes were not just isolated to this particular moment — there were others:

I cried in front of people. As a child I did this very often. Either as a result of wanting to get my way or just because I didn’t get my way. I had no qualms about it depending on who was around. As I grew older, I thought this behavior should be left behind, after all ” big girls don’t cry”. But I did it recently.When I did it as an adult, it wasn’t of childish reasons. I shared something with people that was emotional and I responded as such. Now, I don’t think you should be a weeping willow, but I good cry around people who care about you once in awhile doesn’t make you less of an adult — it makes you human.

I did something stupid.  I took a non-calculated risk that almost left me in a horrible position. I thought adults never do that! By the time you reach adulthood you should have learned from your mistakes from adolescence, and by this point you should be taking it easy and going after those calculated risks tied to a huge payoff. I was wrong. In adulthood you will continue to  make mistakes , HUGE mistakes. The important thing is to learn from them.

I played around without inhibitions. When I participated in an activity, I still somehow think I’m invincible and if I get hurt I could use one of my many lives I’ve acquired during play like in Final Fantasy 7. However, it does not work that way. We are given one body and one life, we can’t jump off cliffs and not consider the risk of possibly cracking our heads open on a jagged rock in the water below.

I’m sure I’m just preaching to the choir , but if not, I hope the heads up does some good.

What is your idea of being an adult? And how has that changed as you’ve gotten older?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

