Not what we imagined.

I, like many of my generation, believed that upon graduation from college I would land a well paying job, move into my own apartment, enjoy the single life for a while , meet someone special, marry, settle down and raise a family. 

Reality has come upon us as shown in this atlantic article. Most of us are not getting that well paying job or any of the other events that follow. We are living at our parents house. If we do have a job, it’s not what we want and we are painfully underpaid. Others enjoy thriving careers at this time and feel nothing of this, but that is few and far between.

I have recently come into the job search category because the contract with my company for our client is not being renewed. So what does one do in this situation when the economy is so bleak and you feel helpless because you know you’re doing everything correctly, but no one seems to be biting. I’ve only been at this for the past week or so and this is what I’ve learned:

Make use of your contacts only when you know exactly what you want – Don’t just say ” I’m looking for a job, know of anything?” give specifics , ” I’m looking for mid-level communications positions, know of anything?” or better yet say ” I found _____ position with your company. Do you know of anyone who directly deals with hiring for that position?Or could you recommend me to this position?” or something along those lines. Keep asking until you find someone who knows who’s hiring for the position or can recommend you.

Be a resource person not a job beggar – I learned this from the book What Color Is Your Parachute?  it’s a practical manual for job hunters and career changers. You want to show how you could help an organization with their problems, not go in with the ” please give me a job!! I’ll do anything!!” attitude. Desperate is not a good look.

Network, Network,  Network – Doesn’t matter how smart you are , it’s who you know to get you in the door for an interview.

I haven’t been on the job hunt long, but I hope following these things will make my job hunt time very short.

What are some other things you have learned from the job-hunt?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

