Whose line is it anyway?

Today I did an Improv Workshop with Washington Improv Theater. It was so fun! I felt like I was a kid again.

We did a couple of exercises that I really enjoyed. In one, we started in a line against a wall, one person  acted out doing something in front of the group , the person next to them in the line would enter the scene and say “ Hey, What are you doing?” , the original person would tell them something that they weren’t doing and that other person would have to act it out and so on.

For example it would go like this:

Person 1: Acting like they are driving

Person 2: Hey, What are you doing?

Person 1: I am brushing my teeth

Person 2: Act like they are brushing their teeth

It would go like that until everyone went.

I learned that to do improv well, you can’t think about what you’re gonna do next. You just do it when prompted. Basically you’re not supposed to think, just do. So freeing and fun. I’d definitely recommend giving it a try. It’s a huge stress reliever and has the potential to be euphoric fun.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

