And we’re off!

Today, I got started on my year of giving. I’m committing to volunteering somewhere 2 times a month, and collecting change to buy stuff on globalgiving.com at the end of the year.

It hasn’t been going too well though. I haven’t seen any change laying around on the streets or grounds in malls or anything, which is really weird because there are usually SOME pennies lying around every once in awhile.

For my first project this month I helped pack lunch for In Service, a group that hands out lunches to the homeless population around Union Station. It went pretty fast because there were TONS of people.

I didn’t get that warm, fuzzy feeling of helping somebody, but that’s ok, this isn’t about me. I’m setting out to give back, help people, and people will in fact be helped by getting a nice healthy bag lunch tomorrow.

I want to get to the point where I continually look outside myself and look out for the needs of others a little more than I look out for the needs of myself. Not completely ignoring my needs, but not being so self-absorbed and selfish. I think it will be a great year and I can’t wait to see who I become by 2013!

    • Marion
    • January 14th, 2012

    Very cool Leigh – I like it!

  1. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

